Skip to content

Monsoon and a BBQ

August 27, 2012

Well its been a busy few weeks since I went back to work hence no posts. I think we are now firmly established in a routine which allows us to leave the house at around 8:10am. Little Man is nicely settled in nursery and loves all the attention he is getting. I don’t get any tears in the morning now I think it is because he knows when he gets to nursery he can have some toast, little man loves toast. I must say I am still finding it hard at work. I have definitely been thrown back in at the deep end.

I have a little bit of bad news…do you remember my 1926 Singer? Well I tried to get it up and running a few weeks ago. The motor stayed on and burnt out the rubber, the foot pedal then stopped working. I have looked on the interweb and found a fix kit which includes a new motor and foot pedal so hopefully I will be able to get it working soon.

However, in the meantime I have been pondering whether to buy a new sewing machine. I have been looking at the Brother LX37NT but I really want one that will enable me to try my hand at quilting. I think I will have to visit my local sewing machine centre. Any ideas of models that are good for quilting?

Well what a bank holiday weekend it has been…

It was such a lovely day on Sunday, we actually managed to used our BBQ for the first time this year whoop whoop 🙂 But then today it has done nothing but rain and at times it has been really windy. Typical British weather for you!! We are going to a carnival on Saturday so I hope the weather picks up by then.

I started a Herman cake last time I posted, well here is a picture of how it turned out…:-(

To be honest I wasn’t very impressed with my efforts. I baked it in a large square tin. The recipe said cook for 45 mins at 175 degrees C. But after 45 mins it was still raw, I ended up cooking it for well over 120 mins but the top burnt a bit. My major mistake was cooking it in such a big tin.

I have had another go today and it is much better but this time. I added apple and blackberry so it looks nicer as well. I also cooked it in a tray rather than a tin. I now have three lots of mixture so I think I will be making these cakes for quite some time!

My new project…

I here you all say not little squares again!!

Well I have to admit I have an obsession with little squares. This time I am making a baby blanket for my friend her baby is due in December. I am really excited and thought I would try to make one similar to the one I made little man. But this time I am going to try and make it using bright colours. My friend isn’t planning on finding out the sex so it needs to be suitable for both. I did a little rummaging and found some left over Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino in my yarn stash. So I am going to use that and then get some more. I think Red, Orange, Green (or lime green), Purple and Ercu will work quite well, we will see as it grows. I will keep you posted…

Happy posting everyone…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 3:08 pm

    Glad things have got into a routine for you. Shame about the cake but sounds like you can get some more practice done 🙂 Looking forward to see how the blanket works out.

Leave a Reply

