Skip to content

The end of a long week

August 3, 2012

Hello all, Well my first full week at work has finished. What a week its been hard getting the brain back in gear after being off for over 12 months. I am experiencing a different type of tiredness (mental rather than physical). Little man has had a good week at nursery where his key worker is really happy with the way he has settled in. Although he has been in the accident book twice in his first week. Once for a bump on the head and another for a scratch. He appears to be enjoying himself although dropping him off in the morning results in a few tears. I feel guilty enough already!!.

My return to work unfortunately meant that a colleague of mine for several years has now retired. She kindly agreed to stay on whilst I was on maternity leave but Tuesday was her last day. It was very emotional and it will be a different place without her. She was a valued member of the team. To show my appreciation I decided to make her a cake…

                                  

 

In return today I have received a Herman German Friendship Cake…

                                   

As you can see it looks nothing like a cake at the moment with lots of bubbles on the top. I have to look after it and feed it for the next 10 days. Then it will be ready to eat, very unusual but a lovely idea. I will keep you posted on my progress.

Before I went back to work we spent the day at Attingham Park, it was lovely I thought I would show you some of the pictures…

   

   

Well I hope everyone has a great weekend, I know I will be enjoying mine 🙂

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2012 7:01 pm

    So glad your return to work hasn’t been too harsh. Cake looks very pretty. Hope you have a great weekend, you deserve it.

  2. Deliah permalink
    August 5, 2012 11:11 am

    Glad to hear the first week is done and dusted and the new routine is getting established…even managing to pull in a fabulous bit of baking and decorating!
    Your photo of your friendship cake starter brought back memories…I remember baking these to the point of monotony, but these days the Internet offers such choice and variety…
    http://www.hermanthegermanfriendshipcake.com/

  3. August 12, 2012 12:42 pm

    oooh I had a Herman a few months ago, was possibly one of the nicest cakes I have ever made if i do say so myself but am sure it was to do with everyone else who had had the mixture first. I think its a great idea, but had a few friends who weren’t so keen, it was tricky to pass the mixture on! x

Leave a Reply

