Skip to content

Birthday Celebrations

July 14, 2012

Well as you have all read it was little mans 1st birthday last monday. I can’t believe where the year has gone, whats more I can’t believe I have been off work for over 12 months, it only feels like yesterday when I was counting down the days until my maternity leave started.

I am a little annoyed with the weather as I had so many things I was going to do whilst I was off work i.e. spruce up the garden, go on days out in the sun. None of which have happened due to the darned British weather. You know what will happen, I will go back to work and the sun will emerge from behind the rain clouds and it will be the hottest summer on record!

Anyway enough moaning back to the celebrations. After much organising and the daunting task of feeding 26+ people in our small two bedroom end of terrace. I managed to put together a small buffet on Sunday for Little Man’s 1st Birthday. I was really pleased because everything was homemade…Quiche, sandwiches, Lemon and Blueberry Scones, Banana Cake, Pecan and Walnut Cake, Chocolate Brownies, Sultana Cupcakes, Bakewell Cupcakes, Fairy Cakes and Lemon Drizzle Cake (which was really yummy :-))

Everyone turned up and there was a struggle for seating, I had to go begging for chairs around the neighbourhood  but the weather held off allowing the children to play on the grass. Little man enjoyed himself…

As many of my followers will know I like making and decorating the odd cake now and again, and of course wild horses could not stop me from making little man’s 1st birthday cake. After two weeks prep…here it is…

Unfortunately I didn’t get a really good picture before the cake was cut, everything was a bit hectic..I have edited a photo and removed the background to try to show you a better shot. Here it goes…

The top tier is chocolate marble cake with chocolate and hazelnut cream, the bottom tier is a traditional victoria sponge with strawberry jam and butter cream. I decided to make some models of Little Man’s teddy bear ‘Crumble’, and his monkey ‘Cheeky Monkey’, they are both made out of moulding chocolate (his close relatives recognised who they were supposed to be, which is a real compliment). The alphabet blocks are made out of half of a mini Battenberg cake and covered in icing and decorated. I am really pleased with the result.

It was a very busy day, I didn’t really get chance to sit down during the party and I could not have done it without my mum who helped me so much xx.

On Monday Big D and I planned to spend the day with Little Man by going to our favorite place, ‘The Long Mynd’. We went for a pub lunch on Wenlock Edge and then went to the Long Mynd in an attempt to fly a kite but unfortunately there was not enough wind. Luckily a gentleman turned up to let some homing pigeons go, much to little man’s enjoyment as they flew around and around his head before they headed for Shrewsbury.

Although it looked very grey, it was warm so we sat on the picnic blanket to take in the view… all in all it was a lovely day 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Deliah permalink
    July 14, 2012 9:37 pm

    Superb cake…and what a spread!
    Crumble is such a lovely name for a teddy bear.

  2. July 15, 2012 11:09 am

    A totally amazing cake _ I would pay for one of those! Glad you managed to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

