Skip to content

Granny Square Cushion Cover Ta Dah…

July 5, 2012

Well I finished the cushion a week or so ago. I must say I am really pleased with the result. It is so bright and cheery. I am also impressed with joining the squares using dc rather that the whip stitch. It definitely gives a very different finish.

Granny Square Cushion Cover Ta Dah…

 

I finished off the back as I did with my last cushion cover…

However, I did do a little bit more with this one because it was a gift, and the finish on the  last one bugged me a bit. The seam under the buttons on the back was very messy on the last cover, because I just cut the jumper across and didn’t finish it off. I don’t like things to look messy so racked my brains to resolve the issue on this cover. Well this was what I did…

I put a line of granny squares at the back, where they will not be seen once the cushion is buttoned up. I know it is a lot of work for something that won’t be seen but I think it does make the finish better. My grandmother was so pleased with the cover when I gave it to her. Every time I go she keeps plumping it :-).  Which makes me smile.

It did also look rather nice next to my last cushion cover.

I also finally got around to doing a herb pot cover whoop whoop…

  

Instead of using a soup carton or tin as per Lucy, I used a plastic pot which actually contained a one pot veg dahl. It was the perfect size for my basil.

Well I am so excited its my little man’s 1st birthday on Monday :-). I am frantically trying to organise a birthday party, baking lots of cakes and trying to put his birthday cake together. I did a very silly thing… we live in a small two bedroom house and I stupidly invited 26 people to his party. You know how it is, you invite more people just in case some people can’t come. Well for the first time ever everyone is coming!!! eeek!! Gladly I only arranged it for 3 hours so it is not a whole day job, but definitely concerned about seating! I am also counting on it not raining, which is a lot to ask at the moment.

Anyway I can’t believe it has been nearly a year since my little man was born, the year has gone so quickly. Unfortunately it also means I will be going back to work soon :-(. Little man will have his first taster session at nursery next week in readiness for me going back to work on 27th July.

One Lovely Blog Award

A big thank you to both Rainbow Junkie Corner and Divine Debris for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog award. I am truly touched and pleased that you like my blog so much. When I have a little more time and probably once the party has been sorted I will complete the criteria for accepting the award. Many thanks again 🙂

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2012 10:08 pm

    Love your cushion, especially the back (I’m weird like that, lol!)? Good luck with the party.

  2. July 6, 2012 5:15 am

    The cushion looks great! And I love the hidden grannies in the back. Such a lovely touch.

  3. July 6, 2012 4:13 pm

    Beautiful cushion, love how bright and cherry it is.

  4. Deliah permalink
    July 7, 2012 11:07 am

    Rotational symmetry..WOW! Love the way you’ve organised the granny squares…and the aubergine, olive and tomato double crochet joins are very eye catching too. Just fab.

Leave a Reply

