Skip to content

Celebrations and Cushion Covers

May 15, 2012

The last week or so has been quite busy. I was looking forward to Sunday because it was my birthday and we planned a day out shopping in Birmingham, minus little man, who spent the day with his grandparents.

On the way we stopped to take in the scenery of gorgeous yellow fields. Something we rarely get time to do now…

    

It was great getting out and about and getting the chance to look around the shops.

It was a lovely day, but we spent much of it looking at clothes for little man and perusing Selfridges and Co…

…a bull made out of Jelly Beans. I am always fascinated by the Jelly Bean section. I can’t believe there are that many flavours.

I got a little excited when we found the Peanut Butter and Jelly stand. I couldn’t resist buying a jar of ‘Smuckers Goober’ Peanut Butter and Grape Jelly, mmmm delicious.

We returned home with just two small shopping bags having had a great day.

Well this week I managed to finish off my cushion, and I am really pleased with the results…

Cushion Cover Ta Dah…

                             

I had a little bit of fun this week, a pamphlet was put through our door this week…The EDF Energy Mascot…

Little man always gets really excited when the current EDF energy advert appears on the television. When the pamphlet was put through the door little Man was so excited by it, so I thought I would attempt to make one. I just followed the pattern for Mr Scrappy’s head twice but on the second one I added two rows of six to create the wispy top. I then just crochet two white circles and two smaller black circles for the eyes.

What do you think? Little man loves him…

It seems there is quite a market for these on e-bay. You would think that EDF Energy would catch on and make them available to buy.

My new project…

                                

lots of tiny bright square gorgeousness…

The start of the cushion cover for my grandmother. I intend to join the squares together with double crochet, which is a step away from my normal whip stitch. I have got a long way to go, lots of tiny squares to make. For some reason I have been suffering from crochet wrist and fingers this week, which I get when I have been overdoing it with the hook. So a little rest from crochet is in order. We will see if I can resist!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 9:21 pm

    What a lovely post – lots to look at and admire. I really like the jelly bean bull in Brum too!
    Nice crochet doings too.

  2. May 15, 2012 10:57 pm

    Don’t quite understand the EDF energy ad… Am I missing something? But I like your crocheted version 🙂

  3. Deliah permalink
    May 16, 2012 4:14 pm

    Love this post…love your Zingy…
    I had to find the ad to watch ☺

    http://www.petitiononline.co.uk/petition/sign-if-you-want-a-zingy-edf-energy-toy-produced/4394

  4. July 14, 2012 3:55 pm

    your cushions are cheerful and pretty. Cant wait to see your finished granny square cushion for your Granny!

Leave a Reply

